Writing.

Whenever I write something, I find it quite hard to share it with anyone. I have to get to a stage where I’m desperate for some kind of feedback to actually show it to anyone.

Writing, no matter what it’s about, acts as an extension of personality. Whether that’s a brutally honest version of it or a caricature of some trait or behaviour that I don’t tend to show on a regular basis. So when someone reads something I’ve written for the first time, it’s like I’m putting myself out there on a stage, completely naked, waiting for them to judge and to scrutinise my every move. That makes it hard.

But it also makes it worthwhile. Criticism is necessary.

One major thing I’ve learnt about life in general since I started to write a little over a year ago is learning to accept that people will judge you and that’s completely okay. It’s okay for some people not to ‘like’ your work or not to ‘get’ your point. The main point for me is to get some kind of reaction, to make people think or react in a way that they may not have expected.

I’ve started to write something new, something that isn’t sci-fi. Just a short story that I’m hoping to have finished quite soon and I’m quite looking forward to seeing how differently it develops.

And when it’s ready, I’ll be ready to share it.

Leave a comment